Tax Information – Millage rate .52 cents per $100 in property valuation.

Residents in the city limits of Murphy pay an additional .42 cent city property tax, while Andrews residents pay a .52 cents per $100 valuation of property.

The next county revaluation is set for 2020

DMV & Tag Office

N.C. Department of Motor Vehicles Driver License Office is located at 1440 Main Street, Andrews, NC 28901 – Call 828-321-1442. Open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday.

N. C. Department of Motor Vehicles Tag Office is located at 1176 Andrews Road, Murphy, NC 28906. Call 828-837-2023. Office open from 9:00 a.m. to noon and 1-5 p.m. Monday thru Friday. When tags are renewed, residents of Cherokee County also pay their vehicle taxes at the tag office.

Murphy Police Department, Justin Jacobs, 93 Peachtree Street, Murphy NC 28906

Andrews Police Department, Chief Hobgood, 101 Main Street (Town Hall building) Andrews, NC 28901

Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office, Sheriff Derrick Palmer, 577 Regal St., Murphy, NC 28906

Cherokee Indian Police, Chief Ben Reed

N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, Enforcement – Area Sgt. Brock Auvil, 828-557-1648

TVA Police Inspectors, Inspector Brad Johnson, 800-824-3861, Ext. 127

U.S. Forest Service Law Enforcement, District Ranger, Angela Gee, 828-837-5152